Bringing in the New Year: Top Music Picks of 2014

Ok, so 2014 was an amazing year. Highlights were the birth of my daughter in April, and the trip to Japan that I am still recovering from (Jet-lag is a beast!). I’m still working on putting together a good photo summary of the year, but I have roughly put together my musical faves for the year.

I like to think that I am pretty invested in the snobbery of music name dropping, and while in past years I had to shave a considerable number of other artists off the top 10 list, this year I was much more engaged with music recently found, but from any other year than 2014. So fewer than 10 from 2014. Anyways, here’s the list. Please let me know what your faves are for 2014!

Mac Demarco – Salad Days

-This album kills me. I loved his earlier album ‘2’, and while this is similar, in so many ways it’s much more refined. A little more personal, but the weirdo personality is still there. There’s something very personable about Mac Demarco that really comes out through his lyrics and loungey guitar playing. Best, hands down!

Nils Frahm – Spaces

– Bought this just before leaving to Japan, and it’s minimalism served as a great album for train riding and watching the busy ant hive that is Tokyo zip by. Hard to believe this album is live, as he’s capable of blending so many layers of piano and effects together so effortlessly. I’d love to be able to play this well. Mabye if I actually practiced…

Ty Segall – Manipulator

Loved Ty for a number of years now, ever since I heard his track ‘Goodbye Bread.’ 70’s fuzz-rock basically, but really catchy and a lot of energy comes through the music. A little more polished and a little over bloated compared to the excellent album ‘Twins’ that preceded it, but still fantastic.

Ariel Pink – Pom Pom

As are most of his albums, at first listen you think to yourself, ‘what is this garbage?’ Then coming back to it by chance you find yourself hooked in by the bawdy lyrics and so awful they’re great hooks. I’m a big fan of Haunted Grafitti, and this album seems to come close. Reminds me a lot of Ween in a way, so if you love Ween, look no further, this shit’s weird!

Todd Terje – It’s Album Time

Like Ariel Pink, didn’t know what to think of a lot of the songs on this album. They seemed awfully corny initially. The production work on this album is amazing though, and again the more you listen, the better it gets.

Caribou – Our Love

Another great album.

St. Vincent – S/T

 

Leave a Reply

